GLENMORANGIE SIGNET

glenmorangie_signet

In 2009, I’ve intensified my search for great whiskies (Scottish single malt in particular) both for interest and work. I honestly have tasted quite a fair bit (although I don’t really think its enough!), and have placed labels such as Ardbeg, Springbank, Glenmorangie, Makers Mark, and Old Rip Van Winkle as personal favourites. In late 2008 I’ve discovered a great Scottish single malt that is truly unsual and has left a lasting impression on my palatte ever since….it’s the Glenmorangie Signet. Time over time, I’ve tasted this great whisky…and take my word for it… a wee dram is never enough! Here’s some information of the Glenmorangie Signet and my take on the whisky:

Glenmorangie Signet

The Signet is crafted from Glenmorangie’s archive of ancient whisky with the oldest dating back to 1974.The whiskies employed in its creation derives from aging in ex-bourbon barrels, olorosso sherry casks and virgin ‘slow growth’ designer casks. Glenmorangie uses Single Estate Cadboll barley that is only produced two weeks in a year for this unique creation.

Tasting Notes

This is a seductive whisky with spices and dark chocolates that dominates the air. Have a quick whiff again and there’s soft underlying hints of caramel and rich mocha. The Signet is rich and dominating on the palate with a twist of orange rind, fresh espresso and warm spices (I suggest you enjoy this one neat). A velvety finish and an aftertaste of ground coffee.

* You’ll find that the Signet has a dominant chocolate, roasted coffee and bitter character mainly deriving from the usage of the ‘chocolate malt’ in its creation. The ‘chocolate malt’ is a highly roasted malt that is both rare and expensive which is only malted in small batches.

3 Comments on “GLENMORANGIE SIGNET”

  1. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  2. Kim Choong says:

    I absolutely admire the research that you have recorded here! Keep up the good work. So far the best liquor site I have visited as it is very reader friendly.


Leave a Reply

